Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

186,765 users have contributed to 42,477 threads and 255,923 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 2 new thread(s), 14 new post(s) and 38 new user(s).

• VEP dropouts, clicking...

I just installed VEP on both my main MacPro and on my slave MacPro.  The connections seem to work but I experience audio dropouts and clicking/stuttering as if the CPU is maxed out.   Even when I play the Epic Orchestra demo song (logic midi file plays on Master Mac and Epic Orchestra is on the slave where the Epic Orchestra library is installed) it has dropouts and crackling/stuttering.

Since I am totally new to VEP and audio/midi distributing I suppose I haven't set up my MAC's properly?  Or what can be wrong here?

Thanks!

• last edited
    last edited

Hi Felix,

Did you check the multiprocessing settings in the VE PRO preferences? You should set them to all available threads per instance, to start with. There ´s more information in the VE PRO manual!

Would also be interesting to know which OS you are working with, which sequencer, which soundcard and settings....

Best,

Paul

Paul Kopf Product Manager VSL
  • last edited
    last edited

Thank you for your advice!

I sat down yesterday and changed the threads on my Slave Mac from 2 to 4.  I played around with different settings (virtual instruments) and it seemed to work fine.  Although I noticed three audio drop outs during my three hours of checking out VEP.

This morning I turned my system on again to start working and there was the same 'Problem': dropouts and crackling noises. My setting from yesterday (4 threads on the slave Mac) was still the same.

I tested again with different Virtual Instruments and it seemed that when I had an instance of VEP loaded with several Omnisphere tracks the Problem was still there but it wasn't that strong.