Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

186,773 users have contributed to 42,478 threads and 255,926 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 2 new thread(s), 11 new post(s) and 37 new user(s).

• Classical Guitar.... hmmmmm?

Hello all, I'm new to the VSL library. I currently use a private sample library of the Russian National Orchestra that I share as part of a consortium of film composers. In addition I use Sonic Implants, Dan Dean, Garritan and Miroslav. I run them on 8 giga PCs and on several macs running Kontakts via AULab and EXSmkiis.

I've just bought the Classical guitar, solo strings and the chamber strings. Installing the guitar I have to say I'm really disappointed with the sound, it seems to have a bucket load of data for something that sounds no more than a cheap lute or harp sample. Comparing it to the guitar samples bundled with Kontakt wouldn't be fair to those samples!

I have made a lot of successful guitar patches of my own over the years and feel the best way to achieve a usable performance patch is to be very expressive and idiosyncratic for every sample. I feel on this library too much care and attention has gone into making every sample sound identical, leaving a very cold and to be honest not very usable set of patches in my opinion. And surprisingly I find several examples of keys that have samples that are out of tune also, I cite A2 on AG_mV_sus+RS_FX-mu as one example, sorry, not good enough for the price, it took me several minutes to fix, I think sloppy that these minutes weren't applied at the factory end?

Here's an example of a piece I wrote completely performed on fake instruments bar a single solo violin:

http://hensonmusic.com/media/AudioLab/KaterinasTheme.mp3

And whilst it has a folky feel to it I feel this degree of realism would be hard to achieve from the VSL guitar patch (the guitars you here are two single patches I made myself from a Charango guitar constructed from the shell of an Armadillo!).