Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

186,776 users have contributed to 42,478 threads and 255,926 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 2 new thread(s), 11 new post(s) and 36 new user(s).

• Plans for an "Opus VI" in the works?

Hello, VSL people. This is my first post, and I am not an owner of any VSL products, although I am getting ready to make a purchase. (I'm a young composer finishing my master's degree and aiming for film composition.) The Opus Bundle is within my price-range with the holiday discount, but I am confused about one thing. (Please forgive me if this has been explained before.) I've lurked on this board for a little while and have noticed posters alluding to an "Opus VI", which I assume implies a similar collection to the original Opus Bundle, but for the new VI. Is this a product that is, in fact, in the works?

Thanks for listening-- darien

• Hi Darien,

even if it was - which I don't know myself - it certainly wouldn't be released in the near future because the VSL schedule calls for other things first. I'm sure you could put that time to good use with Opus I without regretting the purchase ...

Regards,
    David
    VSL manuals

• last edited
    last edited
    Hi Darien, I'm in the same situation as you and I asked the very same question in this thread. I got this a bit ambigous answer from Martin (a moderator):
    "There are no plans to release a VI equivalent to Opus 1 in the near future".
    I'm still wondering if this means that there are plans (but not for the near future) or that there are no plans. Knowing wheather there will be a future upgrade alternative (even if nothing much yet could be said about it's release date or contents) would certainly make the decision to invest in Opus easier. A clarification on this issue from the core VSL team would be much appreciated.

Regards,
    Nils

• Well, no official VSL ...