Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

190,466 users have contributed to 42,741 threads and 257,159 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 2 new thread(s), 11 new post(s) and 40 new user(s).

• Inconsistencies in the Expression Maps (VSL in Dorico Pro 5)

Download "Experiments in Scales _ VSL in Dorico.rar"

I am new to Dorico, but I have been using VSL for a considerable time with Cubase Pro. I decided to switch to Dorico because I want to write directly into the score. However, I also want to create the most accurate demo possible of my music. From what I understand, the Expression Maps should ensure that the nuances in the score result in the desired nuances in the sound — meaning that the notation and sound should correspond. But based on my experience so far, this is absolutely not the case! Here is what I have done.

I am using Dorico Pro 5, and I have downloaded the VSL Expression Maps. I set up a track with "Synchron Duality Strings 1st Violins – VelXF sus" and chose the "VSL SY Duality Strings – Violin, Violas" in the Expression Maps. I began composing music and noticed a completely different sound than I had in mind. So, I stopped writing and set up A VERY SIMPLE EXPERIMENT: I had these violins play the C major scale sixteen times, ascending and descending over one octave, but with a wide variation in dynamics and articulations. There are many more things to investigate than I have done so far, but I have already reached several STRIKING CONCLUSIONS:

1. Different VSL articulations, specifically "Short nts." on one hand and "Long nts." and "Perf. Legato" on the other, result in huge volume differences, even though they are all notated at the same overall dynamic level (e.g., "mf").