Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

188,328 users have contributed to 42,591 threads and 256,456 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 1 new thread(s), 16 new post(s) and 39 new user(s).

• Problems with crack/clicks/distortion in VEP5 on MAC but not on PC

Hi all... I'm setting up my new DAW with 1 master Mac Pro (12-core, 16GB RAM, 4 HDD) and 2 slave PCs (8-core, 16 GB RAM, SSD). All the samples I've loaded in my two PCs work perfectly through VEP5 on my Mac Pro and plays out smoothly. There is no distortion at all even though I've loaded lots of instruments on the slaves. I have a problem with my master Mac Pro though. I've loaded the instruments on the master, which I want to tweak while composing, so that's why they are on my master. Here is a screen shot of my setup: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2425732/VEP5_setup.png I have a 32-bit version of VEP with such things as NI Electric Piano, B4 organ and HALion. I have a 64-bit version of VEP with such things as EWQL Storm Drum + Silk + RA, Spectrasonics Omnisphere + Trilian + Stylus RMX, Kontakt with only 1 piano loaded, and NI synths: 3 X FM8 + 2X Massive + 3 X Absynth. After loading the Silk + RA instruments I got lots of distortion while playing on the keyboard... on ALL instruments (also those from my slaves???). Then I found out, that if I chose lesser threads per instance in the VEP properties on my master this got better (still some clicks though). If I DISCONNECT one of the instances from VEP on my master my problem goes away.... I don't get it! It's not like I've overloaded the system. As far as I know I shouldn't have a CPU problem (the meters in Cubase and Activity Monitor are not even showing close to problematic) just by loading all my instruments... I'm only loading the instruments in RAM and I have half of my RAM memory left as free. The other thing is, that I've loaded twice as much in my PCs with greater number if instances in VEP and the properties set to 2 threads per instance even thoug