Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

186,755 users have contributed to 42,476 threads and 255,916 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 1 new thread(s), 16 new post(s) and 36 new user(s).

• New Imac and VEP

Hello everybody, i'm new on this forum and a relatively new VEP user, i hope someone can help me a bit with this, i just got a new Imac (see specs below):

2.7GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5

2560 x 1440 resolution

upgraded to 24GB

1TB hard drive

AMD Radeon HD 6770M with 512MB

and i'm a pro tools user, so i created the following setup:

VEP SERVER 64 BIT:

-5 instances of EWQL Play (EWQSO,EWQLSC,QL MOR) each instance with no more than 5 single instruments/articulations and the memory usage is around 2GB total

-8 Instances of Kontakt 4 with 5-6 Instruments each using 1GB (with a low memory server preload size) and/or 3GB (with the biggest memory server preload size) multi-processor disabled

-1 Instance of Omnisphere with a single instrument (not sure the size but i'm pretty sure is pretty small)

VEP SERVER 32 Bit:

-1 Instance of Miroslav Philharmonik with 3 instruments (again not sure how big is it but since it loads in 1 second i assume is minimum)

In Pro Tools (10.0.1) i have 2 instrument tracks holding the servers and around 70 aux inputs for all the instruments (however i really only have less than 20 aux tracks per session, the 70 is just for the main template and i haven't use them all together) So far everything fine and no problems, setting up was easy and hassle free, then the tricky part:

Pro Tools playback engine (digi 002/03):

HW Buffer Size: 1024 (i tried everything here)

RTAS Processor: 1 processor (out of 4)

CPU Usage Limit: 99%

Ignore errors during playback and minimize latency both checked

Delay compensation: I tried it all and makes not much difference, so have it set to None