Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

188,327 users have contributed to 42,591 threads and 256,456 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 1 new thread(s), 17 new post(s) and 39 new user(s).

• Please help! - Sluggish performance, clicks and pops - Pro Tools 9, Ve Pro 5, Kontakt 5

Hi everyone * * * * * First of all, sorry if this is hard to read - and please forgive the asteriks between the sentences - I don't know why my text all came out with no paragraphs or line breaks. * * * * * Ok, this is my first time posting on this forum. I'm having a problem and I sure hope someone can help me. First off, here are the specs of my system: * * * * * Imac Quadcore, 3.4 GHz, i7 processor - 16 GB Ram - OS X 10.6.8 * * * * * Apogee Rosetta 800/96 audio interface (via firewire) * * * * * Pro Tools 9 Native * * * * * VEPro 5 * * * * * Kontakt 5 * * * * * Triton Classic + Nanokontrol2 (MIDI controllers) * * * * * 2 separate Firewire drives (1 for sound libraries - and the other for Pro Tools audio drive) * * * * * * * * * * Ok, now for my problem. I'm running LASS strings in Kontakt 5. What I've been doing is opening up Pro Tools 9 (Native), putting an instance of VE Pro on an instrument track - putting 1 or more instances of Kontakt in that instance of VE Pro - bringing up multiple patches of LASS (different string articulations). By the way, I usually change my Pro Tools buffer setting between 256 and 1024, depending on how much latency I can handle. * * * * * What's been happening is that when I try to record a MIDI track in Pro Tools, everything gets sluggish. The audio has clicks and pops. My CPU (RTAS) meter in Pro Tools starts to dance around and spike. Sometimes, Pro Tools just flat out stops and I get an error message saying the following: * * * * * "A CPU Overload error occured. Try increasing the H/W Buffer size or removing some plugins." * * * * * So I end up increasing the buffer to 1024 in that case. The problem lessens a bit, but it becomes impossible to p