Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

186,755 users have contributed to 42,477 threads and 255,921 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 2 new thread(s), 16 new post(s) and 36 new user(s).

• Woodwinds: Which is best for me?

Hello all. I'm a high school student with a limited income, so I won't be able to purchase most of what Vienna has to offer, at least not any time soon. Nonetheless, I'm interested in a few of the download instruments available to purchase: Flute 1/2, Piccolo, and others. Right now I'm trying to decide which woodwind to look into. First of all, would anyone be able to offer some insight into the differences between flute 1 and 2? Also, how wise would it be to get a piccolo instead of a flute? Right now, all I have is the Kontakt VSL lite instruments, and I do like the sounds of the strings and woodwinds. It's too bad that Vienna doesn't offer a single solo violin download instrument. I'd get that immediately. (Solo Strings is out of the budget right now.) Anyway, I'm looking forward to responses. This is a tricky choice to make...

•  I would first go for the Flute, Oboe, Clarinet Bb and Bassoon which are the main instruments of the group because you will use them more often in you music.  The different between Flute 1 and 2 is basically the sound so if you write a piece for two flutes you will hear two different flutes playing rather than the same flute playing both parts.   This also prevents the phasing effect when the two flutes play in unison.

• What sort of budget are you looking at?

While, long-term, the full DVD collections are the better option, given your circumstances, if there was a way you could save up for the basic SE standard library, that might be worth considering.  It is very good in its own right, and it would give you basic articulations for all the main sections of the orchestra, including solo strings and solo woodwinds.