Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

190,087 users have contributed to 42,705 threads and 256,979 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 3 new thread(s), 39 new post(s) and 34 new user(s).

• Loading non-VSL libraries in VEP4

Please forgive me.  I am sure the answer exists somewhere, and yes, I have tried searching for it.  I have read the manual.  I am probably just an idiot, but I have tried.

I have a slave PC (#2) running Win7 64 bit Professional with VEP4 installed (and all versions of VEP4 are the same across all computers.)

I have a master PC running Win7 Home Premium 64 bit.  My master PC is running ProTools 9.0.2.  

On my Master computer I also have some libraries installed, and have set it up to be a slave as well.  Let's call this instance slave #1.

I have been able to get the routing right, and to get everything running from Slave #1 to ProTools via VEP4, but only for the Epic Orchestra Library.  The documentation is adequate for explaining how to get VEP to work with Vienna Instruments.

What I cannot do is get VEP4 to recognize any 3rd party libraries.  I have tried to do this through VST properties, with no success.

Can somebody point me to a well written article or FAQ for setting up VEP4 to host QL PLAY and NI Kontakt libraries?

I should note that upon installation of VEP4 i was asked where my VST folder was, and it didn't have any idea where to look for it.  I don't really use VST, so have no idea where that folder is.  Normally products I install seem to know where to look for these types of folders.  I needed to do something, and so I created a new folder called "VSL vst."  I imagine that this might be part of the problem.  Is VEP4 looking in THAT folder for VST instruments?

I've got to say, this is amazingly frustrating. 

• http://www.google.com/search?q=vst+folder+win+7&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a