Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

186,773 users have contributed to 42,478 threads and 255,926 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 2 new thread(s), 11 new post(s) and 37 new user(s).

• Orchestral Strings - SE or full version?

Hello everyone. I'm a musician and composer and has lately started working with film music and realised the need for a proper strings library. I'm impressed with the sound and the generally dry quality of the VSL instruments included in Kontakt, but it's of course severely limited and in my opinion can't be used for serious scoring. My question is whether it makes more sense to get the Orchestral Strings 1+2 directly (but not the extended versions) or the SE Strings + SE Strings Plus? Somehow there seems to be more articulations in the combined SE and SE Plus, or am I missing something? I can only see the differences when it comes to the included articulations, what other differences are there? I should add that I'm not at all interested in solo strings so the DVDs really do seem to make more sense, but only if you don't absolutely need the extended library as well. I'd be grateful for any thoughts on this. Best regards.

• The Orchestral Strings 1 and 2 collections are sampled at every half step where as the SE collections are only sampled at every whole step then transposed to fill in the gaps.  Also, in some cases, OS 1 and 2 have more velocity layers and more variety when it comes to repeating notes.  If you can afford to get the full libraries then get them because you really need a lot of articulations to make your music sound as authentic as possible. 

• If you can afford the full libraries, generally, that is the better way to go.  The additional bowings and dynamics that are included in the extended versions are particularly important when seeking realism.