Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

186,762 users have contributed to 42,477 threads and 255,922 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 2 new thread(s), 13 new post(s) and 36 new user(s).

• Best Playback - Sibelius or Notion?

Hi everyone,

I am wondering what notation software has the best orchestral playback. I have used Sibelius (with full set of VSL DVD Library (extended) for ages and am continually troubleshooting the playback using Sibelius Sound Editor, Sibelius Dictionary, and VSL Matrix settings etc etc.

I have no experience using Notion and wonder if those who have can comment.

Cheers

Leif

• Hi leif1970,

I have all the decent notation programs available of the moment: Sibelius, Finale , Notion all updated to the very last versions. Just to let you know that no one can replace your hand on the keyboard ( maybe I'm wrong but at least I'm honest). Now, regarding Notion ( since there is also a nice promotion) is a decent tool. Is working as expected: no hassle in adding articulations, everything is easy and predictable, thanks to the developer. It works in combination with VSL and not only, but since you are here probably you're referring to this library. On the other hand , you have to be aware that tempo and the nuances are up to 75% ok..the playback definitely can be improved  by adjusting Notion according to vsl and vice versa..but again you enter in other territories exactly as in the Sibelius ( anyway I think troubleshooting is a little too much, maybe you want an expressive sound, that's other story). All in all, I think is a good "servant" in playing notes from a complicate score with VSE /+. Last sentence: Sibelius maybe is a pain in the neck , but think about the great sound sets for the rest of the libraries from VSL. You don't find too easy any program to have this great compatibility. Look at the demos from Notion website , they are pretty impressive though!!

http://www.notionmusic.com/products/notion_sle.html

Hope it helps,