Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

182,511 users have contributed to 42,234 threads and 254,831 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 4 new thread(s), 23 new post(s) and 41 new user(s).

• Which extended library should I choose? Decisions. Decisions.

Hi VSL Community,

I currently own the Special Edition bundle standard edition.  I have been using it for about two years. After attending a VSL seminar I have decided to build onto my library.  I have just ordered Apassionatta Strings 1 standard and I am eligible to receive an extended library of my choosing for free.  I am torn between selecting the Special Edition extended or the Appassionata 1 extended. I have even pondered Appasionatta 2 extended if that makes any sense.  The point here is, I am not sure what my best option for both value and content quality is.  I compose scores for short films, but am getting into commercial and video game scores as well.  I am looking for the best option that compliments my emotive composing style whether sad or joyous, for powerful, cinematic, as well as profound and yearning moments.  I am using Logic 9 and also plan to upgrade to Vienna Instruments Pro right away.  Thank you all in advance for your time and advice.

Regards,

Jonathan

• Based on your comments, perhaps strongly consider the Special Edition extended library.  Especially as it sounds like you could use a wide spectrum of instruments for emotive composing, the Special Edition extended could be ideal.  It will not only give you chamber strings, but also basic articulations for most of the secondary "color" or emotive instruments.

The two SE libraries could serve as your foundation, and then you could add full packages as budget permits, and as you determine specific needs.  If you choose AP Strings extended, it would help with additional string techniques.  The Special Edition extended library would likely be of use in a greater number of situations.