Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

183,989 users have contributed to 42,333 threads and 255,217 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 1 new thread(s), 5 new post(s) and 34 new user(s).

• notation question?

Im getting lost in translation of a piece i am studying...i wonder can anyone clear something up for me??
    I want to talk chords...in particular tablet chords...u know those pretty little squares above the stave.Now.....my music reading is...... shall we say.....a little less to be desired....
    The composer places a chord at the start of a bar with a tablet from which i understand are the finger positions on the string which produce a chord.So for example lets say cm9 .Now is the composer altering cm9 slightly and showing you in the tablet?? how do you convert the finger positions into keys? and lastly....... if a cm9 starts at the front of the bar and we have a melody scaling down one octave...does the chord cm9 follow the melody but doesn't play the melody keys which are in a tradational cm9?????
    Guys i appreciate this is a long question..........but i would be very grateful if anyone can help with any of the above.(would be alot easier if i could draw you a picture on here!!)

• here's the pic
    <a href=http://vsl.co.at/upload/exchange/images/pastedgraphic1.gif">

and remember: only a CRAY can run an endless loop in just three seconds.
  • hey, cm, youĀ“re playing guitar now? [:D]

Paw, IĀ“m not sure I entirely understand your questions.
    Basically you seem to be a bit lost what this guitar symbols are about.