Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

188,328 users have contributed to 42,591 threads and 256,456 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 1 new thread(s), 16 new post(s) and 39 new user(s).

• 500MB RAM per instrument?

I've just installed VSL Solo Strings and Vienna Ensemble today. I'm a complete novice with VSL. Sorry if this has been asked before, but I haven't found it in previous posts. Previous posts say things like "All Vienna Instruments load the first 64k into RAM the remainder is streamed directly from disc as and when required." But when I load a violin, over 500MB of real memory is used. When I add a cello, 1.1GB of real memory is used. (Apple's Activity Monitor tells me this.) The OS takes a chunk and Pro Tools takes a chunk and -- presto! -- I have run out of real memory with only two instruments loaded. At this rate I don't see how people can get any serious work done. Surely I'm doing something wrong? I have not touched any presets, matrices, or anything else. Just the delivered instruments in one instance of Vienna Ensemble. Any help appreciated.

• I don't think you're doing anything wrong. Those of us loading more just have more memory. For example my template is a tad over 24GB and I have 32GB installed.

I order to check things I would do the following:

Open Vienna Instruments

Go to the Patch assign bit of the GUI

Click on a patch and see how much memory Vienna says it needs

Load the patch and then compare with what it actually takes.

DG

• Thanks, DG. I guess that when VSL says the system requires 1GB RAM (2GB recommended) they intend that nothing as large as a string quartet can be created. Pretty useless.

• You're probably loading presets. Try loading matrices or patches.

M

• last edited
    last edited

@mosso said:

You're probably loading presets. Try loading matrices or patches.

M