Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

188,328 users have contributed to 42,591 threads and 256,456 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 1 new thread(s), 16 new post(s) and 39 new user(s).

• fee for short film score

I'm an experienced composer with several indie feature film scores and a number of short films. My work so far has been mostly no budget or low budget and in some cases, straight to DVD (good sales though). I've won some awards and had some excellent reviews of my music.

I have a chance to score a short 35mm film with a professional film maker. His credits include major product commercials in the US, possibly in Europe too. It will be almost 10 minutes of music. It looks like a very positive creative experience and likely a very good showcase for me.

I'm wondering what range an established composer would charge for an electronic realization. It would include my composer fee plus me as arranger and musician to realize the score with VSL. At this point, I am not considering outside musicians and therefore will not need to rent an outside studio or engineer.

Thanks, CI

• Always a difficult question this. In my experience (an Irish composer who has worked on numerous films over the years), the fees really depend on overall budget and expected audience. This is an interesting pdf created by our Contemporary Music Centre which aims to help composer define fees though it is more contemporary music commission oriented then commercial film music:

http://www.cmc.ie/opportunities/pdfs/commission-guidelines.pdf

However you may very well be in a different league! My last two films were art films lasting about 10minutes each and both had composer budgets of around 10k euros.