Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

190,096 users have contributed to 42,706 threads and 256,980 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 3 new thread(s), 35 new post(s) and 39 new user(s).

• How to assign separate midi channels to matrices/patches?

Hi, I'm new to VSL, though been working with other orchestral libraries for years. I see that the way Vienna Instrument is designed to be worked with keyswitches and other controller data. That is cool and really handy, but I still want to work partly "the old fashion way" i.e. assigning different channels to different matrices.

I'm using Appassionata Str I and want to separate for example Perf Legato, Articulation Combi and Perf Repetitions for different midi channel inside the same VI instance. I could just load each matrice to it's own instance, but every instance seem to take a certain amount of memory even when nothing is loaded. So I will lose precious memory space by doing it that way.

Also, I read somewhere that using Vienna Ensemble would give me more effective memory space since it works as a separate process in Windows XP, thus not limited to Cubase's 1,3 gigs. Is this correct? My computer sees 3,25 gigs memory although I don't have 3 gb switch enabled.

Thanks in advance!

- Mikko

• Anybody? I don't find anything about midi channels from the manuals. Is VI really not supporting this?

- Mikko

•  welcome mikko,

you should really use VE2 for this kind of arranging things (channels can be assigned) ...

the 3GB switch does only say how much memory will go to the user space - in your case you should set /USERVA=2300 or so, since the system has 3.2 GB available in total and 1 GB should be left to windows (kernel space)

hth, christian

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa996274(EXCHG.65).aspx

and remember: only a CRAY can run an endless loop in just three seconds.
  • Thank you very much,

I didn't know that I can use VE2 for free! I will try that immediately.