Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

188,328 users have contributed to 42,591 threads and 256,456 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 1 new thread(s), 15 new post(s) and 36 new user(s).

• New to Cubase with VSL please help

Hello everyone.

My Cubase studio 4 just arrived in the mail today and I have been spending most of the day reading all the documentation. I have read through most of the supplied physical manual and am now reading as much of the pertinent info as possible in the large PDF manual.

I have a few questions I hope you guys can answer. I have been up to now using Sibelius 5.2 with VSL as I have been intimidated by the technical know-how required to make the leap to a DAW/sequencer (I'm not really good with all the technical stuff, I'm new to this whole world of audio/music production, I used to compose just on paper/pencil, etc).

So, now that I have Cubase Studio 4, my question is about the best and most efficient ways to compose. I know there are 2 chief methods of making music with Cubase/VSL.

1. You notate your music in a notation software like finale/sibelius then import it as midi into Cubase and 'tweak' it.

2. You play the music live straight into Cubase using a midi keyboard.

I am hoping, at least for now to utilize method #1 and am wondering if anyone can help me out on that particular method. For example, what is the best way to 'tweak' the midi. Is it in score editor or Key editor on the piano roll, what do you guys use?

Furthermore, is it best to manually insert velocity changes or use the midi record and redo all the notes by playing them one by one with your own velocity from a midi keyboard?