Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

186,762 users have contributed to 42,477 threads and 255,922 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 2 new thread(s), 13 new post(s) and 36 new user(s).

• VSL Pro Edition / OPUS 1 and 2 on Linux

last edited
    last edited

I have been running OPUS 1 and 2 on Linux for several years now and just recently upgraded to the Pro Edition Complete.

I tried to rewrite the performance tool for linux but was able to get the real performance tool working in wine under linux. The Performance Tool opperates to it's full potential under wine and I am able to get the most out of it under Linux. (this took me years to get running!).

So my setup is as follows:

So it goes like this:

Keyboard -> Rosegarden -> The Performance Tool -> Linuxsampler -> Ardour -> System Out

I am in the process of midi mapping the entire collection as to have all instruments available to me at a click in the Rosegarden (the sequencer).

Once done I will be able to use the On Demand feature of linuxsampler to load the full orchestra for use and pull only what is needed and release it when done. Linuxsampler supports loading instruments as follows:

• Persistant (sample is always loaded)
    • On Demand (sample is loaded when called and discared from memory when not needed)
    • On Demand and Hold (sample is loaded when called and stored in memory for instant replay)

If Linuxsampler runs out of RAM it will keep on working but disregard the sample being requested. So with 8GB of RAM and samples set to On Demand I will be able to run pretty much anything I want.

Also another nice feature of Linuxsampler is the ability to create arbitrary amounts of midi ports. This really helps because each midi port can have 16 channels, and with being able to create as many as you like you can then map the whole collection to different ports and have everythiong in your library at your fingertips when you need it.