Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

186,755 users have contributed to 42,477 threads and 255,921 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 2 new thread(s), 16 new post(s) and 36 new user(s).

• first note of a legato passage

The first note of a legato passage especially in the strings takes too long to start. I set up a speed control with the intent of playing the sustain sample as the first note of a phrase and legato from then on, but this doesn't work unless there is a long enough break from the previous phrase (since it is speed controled). Being a programmer myself, it seems like the easiest solution would be to create a patch to Vienna Instruments that resets the speed to slow when there is a break. This way, after every break including short ones, the starting note would be a sustain. Is there another solution so I can just play the notes and not have the first note of a legato phrase take so long to start?  This is a very rudimentry request that I'm surprised wasn't included to begin with.

Jay

• Easiest thing to do is start with another patch and keyswitch to the legato after you play the fist note.

• I was hoping to avoid that.  I am interested in a real-time way of doing this.  If the first note is short, such as the beginning of a run, there's no way I can time it in real-time so that it only applies to the first note.

• If you are playing a run, then  the best thing to do is to keyswitch to the performance trill sample and use that instead. Then it will be real time; you just have to keyswitch to the articulation first.

The other thing that you can do is (if you're using velocity xFade) set up a matrix where you can change to a fast attack note or other with a higher velocity. Hit it a bit harder and you get a faster attack.

DG