Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

190,098 users have contributed to 42,706 threads and 256,980 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 3 new thread(s), 35 new post(s) and 40 new user(s).

• Very basic questions about midi to audio, and reverb

First, please forgive these really dumb questions (my excuse is that although I've been composing for years, I'm completely new to using hi-end samples):

I'm using VSL through GS2.5 and Cubase SX -- on one computer (P4, 2.8GHz, 2Gigs Ram, 2x200Gig HDs) -- and using (for now) only one In and Out on my sound card. Since neither GS nor my CPU/RAM will likely be able to handle a full orchestral ensemble all at once, I've been told that I will have to record sections to audio as I go along.

Is the standard approach (with my set-up) to record all the sample tracks that make up one instrument to one audio track?

If so, how should one go about handling reverb -- via each instrument's audio track? Or by then recording a number of these instrument audio tracks as an orchestral section, and then applying reverb to each section's audio track? Or by applying reverb to many sections, so that they receive the same reverb treatment?

Along similar lines, I notice that the "Release Control" in Performance Legato + Release Control samples seems to incorporate more natural reverb than is present in the non-RC samples. Wouldn't this necessitate recording each sample's track to audio, so that its own reverb characteristics can be taken into account, relative to the reverb added to other samples used for the same instrument?

Again, please forgive the vast expanses of ignorance in this post -- I'm new in these parts [[;)]]

Thanks, in advance, for any tips you'd care to share.

• Hi Michael,

I'll try and give you some answers, but as always with these matters, there may be different opinions or approaches. btw, your questions aren't dumb, and most of us had to ask them some time ... [[;)]]