Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

182,489 users have contributed to 42,233 threads and 254,817 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 6 new thread(s), 20 new post(s) and 47 new user(s).

• General Integration Issues (VSL,Sibelius,Pro Tools)

Hello All,
    This is my first post. I have been in the wings absorbing all I can. I am impressed with the overall knowledge of you all! I am presently sitting here with boxes,manuels,cables doing my best to integrate Vsl first edition with Sibelius and Protools on two systems (Carillon and G4).

I am wondering if anyone has information pulling together the whole picture for someone like myself who is more of a composer than an engineer. I have been composing (on paper) for many years and my musical training is on classical guitar. As my keyboard skills are rather rudimentary I rely on my experience with guitar and score rather than piano:

To the point my initial questions are around:

1) The best way to link sibelius to VSL without a degree in advance programming.
    2) Has anyone dared to brouch the subject of midi guitar triggering these lovely sounds?

Thanks much,
    Robert

• Hi Robert,

Well, can't help much with your initial questions but may be help you out on issues relating to using a PC running Gigastudio/VSL with a Mac running Pro Tools as that's what I'm doing too.

Basically, I've got the Digi 192 Digital interface (that's the 192 but without the analogue In/Out) and I'm using an RME HDSP 9652 card, so I'm piping 8 channels via ADAT into the Pro Tools mixer. So if you have any questions relating to integrating the two things then feel free to try me. I'm not as expert as some of the people here but I do know my way around a bit.