Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

184,678 users have contributed to 42,366 threads and 255,360 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 0 new thread(s), 9 new post(s) and 66 new user(s).

• Shoul I get a slave computer for VEP? Should I buy a new main machine?

Hello!

I wanted to ask for some advice.

I'm a music composer and I use big orchestral templates for my work. I work with Logic X and load several Kontakt instruments inside it (1 Kontakt instrument-16 samples/16 midi tracks), so let's say that I have around 6 Kontakts with 16 tracks each (around 90 samples loaded).

At these levels I'm really considering getting Vienna Ensemble Pro to save CPU, since my computer can't take so much anymore. I work with an Imac from 2011 (21,5 inches-2.5GHz Intel Core i5) and I have it at 16 GB RAM (it can't go higher than that). - I load my sample libraries from an external drive-.

The problem is that I don't know what would be the best option for me. I don't know if the processor of my Imac is too slow because it's "old" to stand all of this and if it would be enough with a good slave computer, or if I should buy a new mac.

If I bought a new mac, I was thinking of getting a powerful laptop (I travel very often) but I don't know if it would be enough to host VEP or if at some point I would still need a slave machine. Maybe it would be better to go for a desktop computer...?

On the other hand, right now I got the 30 days demo from VEP, but there's a problem: I don't know how to get more than 16 midi tracks from one main instrument in Logic. Then, even if I put one Kontakt inside one instance of VEP, would it really make a difference? The idea would be to be able to host multiple Kontakts inside one instance of VEP, right? Should I consider switching to another DAW in order to get more midi tracks? In any case, when I tried the other day to create one instance of VEP my computer was crashing all the time.