Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

186,163 users have contributed to 42,443 threads and 255,756 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 4 new thread(s), 16 new post(s) and 34 new user(s).

• Midi vs Notation??? Which do people use / prefer?

Hello to all!

I'm new to all of this, and just wondering if there is any preference between users of VSL, or if people use a mixture of both MIDI and notation programs?

Or is it some people ONLY use notation programs, for instance?

Is there any benefits to using a notation program like Sibelius/Finale over playing a keyboard or midi mapping in a DAW like Sonar or Logic?

Discus! :)

Knievel

• One way of looking at it: if your priority is to produce a decent-sounding audio rendition, MIDI offers much more control over performance, and, since parts can be played in real time, it's a more direct way of imparting human feel to the music. But if your goal is to produce a printed score / parts and the audio playback is secondary, a notation program would be the way to go.

If you need both, I can recommend Logic for MIDI (though it's not good for scores). Although I don't use Sibelius I've seen it used successfully many times for score and parts production. If I were engaged full time in producing scores I would create an audio version in Logic, then import a MIDI file of the arrangement into Sibelius and edit it to make a pretty-looking score.

•  Hi,

Use MIDI as a basis, and do it live with your keyboard, and then move or quantize.

If you are familliar to notation, use that, it should work fine.

Now with cubase5 and the new functionallity with the expression maps, then you get the notation free from keyswitch entries, and also can enter them in the notation area, pristine!.

BR,

Magnus

• Hello.

Over many years, I've managed to buy Pro Tools, Logic, Sibelius and Finale.  It only hurt one at a time over about 20 years of being involved in the Digital music world.