Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

185,277 users have contributed to 42,390 threads and 255,477 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 3 new thread(s), 22 new post(s) and 54 new user(s).

• Darth vader theme orchestrated

Hi every one.

I need some advices for i'm not good at mixing instruments, although it's almost impossible to have the perfect result i'm sure there are some tips you could give me to improve one part or another.

so thanks by advance,

this is my first shot so please be nice [:$]

http://www.cijoint.fr/cj200906/cijkTEFMcc.mp3

• These are just my thoughts and opinions...

First of all, I liked the music that was being played by each section/instrument.  Did you re-create this piece by ear, or did you use a MIDI file created by somebody else?  Did you use a DAW such as Cubase to do this, or a notation program such as Sibelius?

Sound-wise, I thought it lacked some depth.  It sounded a little "flat."  I think if you apply increasing amounts of reverb to different sections of the orchestra, (strings, winds, brass, percussion, in that order), adjust the volumes of each section to reflect their virtual distance from the listener, and roll off some high frequencies as instruments move farther away, it will add more depth to the piece, and it will sound "bigger" and more interesting.  

• Hi Nicolas

Sounds really good but I agree with Gary that it could sound "bigger" with difffering reverb depths. To my ears it sounds like a smallish orchestra in the pit at the theatre. Nevertheless, an enjoyable listen. Good luck

Colin

• Hi Every One,

Thanks you very much for you comment et precious help.

I will try to test some reverbs placements but i'm limited by my cpu (2 x 2,66 Ghz imac)