Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

182,164 users have contributed to 42,207 threads and 254,681 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 1 new thread(s), 13 new post(s) and 45 new user(s).

• Looking for some advice before buying

Hi there, I am completely new to this, and quite new to MIDI, recording, etc I would just like to ask some questions about VI before I decide on what exactly to buy... The modular system- If i bought the Special edition and Special edition PLUS bundle, what would I be missing from the larger collections (strings, woodwinds, chamber strings, etc etc)? - I would like to know specifically which articulations are missing if possible - Maybe it is the same articulations that are missing for each instrument? And, if I wanted to upgrade would I get lower prices on the full instrument DVDs/downloads as a result of the modular system? Memory- Will 80GB on a separate partition be ok? (same hard drive, different partition) Is 2GB RAM enough? I see most people who have decent sample libraries have 3 or 4GB Processor- Intel core 2 Duo 2GH - How many instruments with reverb and 1 or two other effects, could I have playing simultaneously before I get clicks/pauses/failure? I know that is a hard question to answer, I just need a rough idea of what I can get out of my system :) Updates etc- Will I get access to updates, specifically if you record new samples, will I get them? (Im trying to avoid buying if you are just about to release a load of new stuff!) Are there any other freebies/services/videos available after I buy that I cannot already see? Oh, and one more question - I saw recently your video about Sibelius, which I got recently - Specifically the Soundfont files that you provide... What articulations do they cover, and is it easy to tweak the settings of the soundfont? (It looks very cool) Sorry that is a lot of questions, but I need to get it right :) Thank you very much Kevin

•  Hi kpatey,