Vienna Symphonic Library Forum
Forum Statistics

183,459 users have contributed to 42,300 threads and 255,080 posts.

In the past 24 hours, we have 3 new thread(s), 12 new post(s) and 54 new user(s).

• Getting VSL Special Edition Soundset to work in Sibelius 5.1

Hi guys..

I've just purchased the VI Special Edition package, and have finished installing it. Things are going well in Logic, but I want to integrate this package in Sibelius 5.1. I am aware of these 'soundsets' and of integrating the Vienna Ensemble to allow you to have more than one track or instrument in the same player. I am, however, an absolute novice to the VI (having previously been using the Horizon Series Opus samples), and really am stuck as to what to do when in Sibelius 5 to get the Special Edition library working properly. Could anyone give me a step by step or concise guide as to what I need to do? I have downloaded the Vienna Ensemble pdf on the Sibelius site, and it's all rather confusing. I've also tried downloading the Vienna Ensemble Special Edition soundset on the site, but when I double click on it it won't open up in Sibelius, saying, 'This is not a musicxml file'. Am I right in saying that before the Vienna Ensemble was available, there was just a normal VSL Special Edition soundset for the library? Confused..!

Any help would be really appreciated...thanks a lot =)

MT 

• Hi Matt,

I have just finished writing a reply to a post that someone asked me to view, and it is in relation to sibelius 5. I have sib 5 and Vienna Instruments working just great together, and there are also others on the forum who are using it well and succesfully also.

Unfortunately, it is now time for me to hit the sack in Australia at the moment [bedtime here and getting late now!], but I will try and get back to you and be as helpful as I can when I get the chance to post again, which won't be until Thursday night Australian time.